Presidential Awards

Kate Hillhouse Chapter of the Year Award

Awarded by the President to the chapter that has best exemplified the mission of the Society in the previous year.

  • 2023, Tonkawa Chapter, Salado
  • 2022, Pines and Prairies Chapter
  • 2021, Fredericksburg Chapter
  • 2020, Boerne Chapter
  • 2019, Big Bend Chapter
  • 2018, Williamson County Chapter
  • 2017, Clear Lake Chapter
  • 2016, North Central Chapter
  • 2015, Williamson County Chapter
  • 2014, Guadalupe Chapter
  • 2013, San Antonio Chapter
  • 2012, Amarillo Chapter
  • 2011, Williamson County
  • 2010, Fredericksburg Chapter
  • 2009, Highland Lakes Chapter
  • 2008, Caddo Wildfower Chapter
  • 2007, Williamson County Chapter
  • 2006, Boerne Chapter
  • 2005, Trinity Forks Chapter, Denton
  • 2004, Austin Chapter
  • 2003, Big Bend Chapter
  • 2002, Boerne Chapter
  • 2001, Trinity Forks Chapter, Denton
  • 2000, Northeast Texas Chapter, Longview
  • 1999, Austin Chapter
  • 1998, Houston Chapter
  • 1997, Fredericksburg Chapter
  • 1996, Tonkawa Chapter, Belton
  • 1995, Brazos Valley Chapter, Waco
  • 1994, South Texas Chapter, Corpus Christi
  • 1993, Trinity Forks Chapter, Denton

Presidents Award

Not given every year, but awarded by the president to those deserving special recognition

  • 2023, Kim Conrow for generous support and leadership during service as President-Elect, President and Past President; from overcoming Covid challenges to holding onboardings and other accomplishments as a committees’ member and an executive officer
  • 2022, Kimber Kaushik for creating the Society Bingo game and the extraordinary work in 2021 in leading the Grants and Scholarship committee
  • 2021, Kyle Cowart, Troop 757 Bedford for his Eagle Scout Project; and Carol Clark for her volunteer service as the Chair of the Bring Back the Monarch to Texas Committee
  • 2019, Chapter Financial Reporting Committee (Jan Hanz, Mike McBride, Dennis Perz, Mo Saiidi)
  • 2018, Tricia Hopkins, for originating and donating to the Quilt Raffle
  • 2018, Dora Sylvester, for a lifetime of teaching and herbarium work
  • 2017, Lisa Tuck, Vickie Pullen, and Betsy Farris for planning the 2017 symposium
  • 2016, Ricky Linex for work in planning the 2016 symposium
  • 2016, Kay Jenkins for work on the I35 Monarch Waystation project
  • 2016, Bill Hopkins for exceptional service
  • 2015, Margie McCoy, for promoting and supporting small chapters
  • 2015, Dell Hood, for taking on many committee assignments and getting the job done
  • 2015, Cindy Stone, for efforts to support milkweed production in Texas
  • 2014, Sam Kieschnick, for promotion of the Society through Social Media
  • 2014, Malinda Slagle, for efforts in organizing the NLCP in the Dallas Ft Worth Area
  • 2014, Carol Feldman, for reorganizing NLCP as a statewide program
  • 2013, Rhoda Poenisch
  • 2013, Melissa Miller, for originating the NLCP
  • 2013, Deedy Wright
  • 2013, Cathy Downs, for promotion of milkweed and Monarchs
  • 2011, Meg Inglis, Cheryl Hamilton and Kathy Trizna, for their advocacy work on behalf of SB198
  • 2009, Jennifer McBride and Mike McBride, for their service to the Society
  • 2007, Suzanne Young, for her program, “Big Tooth Maples.”
  • 2005, Sue Wiseman, for her work to put the Society’s financial records in order
  • 2005, Bill Ward, for his work in establishing the NICE! Program and his continuing support of the program
  • 2003, Ralph Taylor
  • 2003, Landon Lockett, for education
  • 2001, Jeff Quayle, for discovery of a new species, the Senecio quaylei

Awards of Appreciation

  • 2023, Claire Sorenson, Stephanie Long, Mark Richert, Karl Hanz, Kate Stykes , Jon Lienhard for the idea and development of the Native Landscape Plant Database, a searchable database of native plants that may be used in native landscaping for the different ecoregions throughout Texas
  • 2022, Gary Bowers, Williamson County Chapter, for making the Wilco Chapter a model of efficiency and adaptation during changing times, the chapter’s technology and methods are trailblazing models for others to follow.
  • 2021, Suzanne Tuttle, Deedy Wright, Meg Inglis for developing the Native Landscape Certification Program Class “Stewardship of Native Plant Communities”; and Becca Dickstein for over fifteen years of writing the “NICE Plant of The Season” information sheets for the Trinity Forks Chapter
  • 2005, Mike McBride and Dar Richardson
  • 1995, Carol Hendrick
  • 1990, Patty Leslie
  • 1990, Andy Wasowski
  • 1987, Vernon Wesby
  • 1987, Jim Holmes
  • 1986, Bettye Jane Dodds
  • 1986, Benny J. Simpson
  • 1983, Billie Thompson
  • 1982, Dr. Kenneth Fry

Honorary Life Membership

  • 1995, Lynn Lowrey
  • 1984, Carroll Abbott

Resolution in Memoriam

  • 1984, Carroll Abbott

Award of Appreciation with Honorary Life Membership

  • 2018, Pam Middleton
  • 2006, Sue Wiseman
  • 2005, Sally and Andy Wasowski
  • 2004, Kate Hillhouse
  • 2003, Dorothy Mattiza
  • 1989, Bettye Jane Dodds
  • 1986, Lady Bird Johnson
  • 1986, Dr. Mary Evelyn Blagg-Huey

Award of Recognition

  • 1988, Benny J. Simpson
Receive the latest native plant news

Subscribe To Our News

Subscribe to emails from the Native Plant Society of Texas.

Receive emails when new posts are added 4-6 times per month, or receive an email once a month.

Or join us on social media

About the Region

New Braunfels, the location of our Fall 2024 Symposium, straddles both the Edwards Plateau Ecoregion and the Blackland Prairie ecoregion. Interstate 35 divides the city of New Braunfels; its path through the city closely parallels the boundary of these two ecoregions, with the Edwards Plateau on the west side and the Blackland Prairies region to the east. The Edwards Plateau area is also called the Hill Country; however, this general term covers a much larger area extending farther north. Spring-fed creeks are found throughout the region; deep limestone canyons, rivers, and lakes (reservoirs) are common. Ashe juniper is perhaps the most common woody species found throughout the region. Additional woody species include various species of oak, with live oak (Quercus fusiformis) being the most common. Sycamores (Platanus occidentalis) and bald cypress (Taxodium distichum) border waterways. This area is well known for its spring wildflower displays, though they may be viewed in spring, late summer, and fall, as well. According to Texas Parks and Wildlife, average annual rainfall in the Edwards Plateau ranges from 15 to 34 inches.

The Blackland Prairie extends from the Red River south to San Antonio, bordered on the west by the Edwards Plateau and the Cross Timbers, and on the east by the Post Oak Savannah. Annual rainfall averages 30 to 40 inches, with higher averages to the east. This region is dominated by prairie species. The most common grass species include little bluestem (Schizachyrium scoparium) and Indian grass (Sorghastrum nutans) in the uplands and switchgrass (Panicum virgatum) in the riparian areas and drainages. Common herbaceous flowering plants include salvias, penstemons, and silphiums. This area has suffered greatly from overgrazing and agricultural use. Few intact areas remain, though many of the plants can be found along county roadsides throughout the region.

Our four host chapters (New Braunfels, Lindheimer, Guadalupe, and the Hill Country chapters) are located in one or both of the ecoregions above. However, the eastern portion of Guadalupe County also falls within the Post Oak Savanna ecoregion. Annual rainfall averages 35 to 45 inches, with higher averages to the east. A wide variety of hardwood trees are found, including several species of oaks, elms, and in the Bastrop area, loblolly pine (Pinus taeda). Grasses and forbs dominate in the open savannas, with most common grass being little bluestem. Ranching, agriculture, and fire suppression have allowed woody species to encroach on the once-open savannas.

Source: Wildflowers of Texas by Michael Eason