Join / Renew / Gift Donate Shop Member Portal Language

Native Plant Society of Texas


History of Society

The Native Plant Society of Texas was started in the Fall of 1980 by Carroll Abbott of Kerrville and sponsored by several members of the faculty of Texas Woman’s University

Orange bird in the top branches of a tree with yellow leaves. Set starkly against a blue sky.


The Native Plant Society of Texas is proud to be affiliated with many organizations who share and support our mission of research, conservation and utilization of native plants and native

Linda Knowles

Past Presidents

We are fortunate to have been served by many fine leaders as Society presidents.  2021-2023 – Linda Knowles2019-2021 – Kim Conrow2017-2019 – Cecil Carter2015-2017 – Linda Knowles2013-2015 – Bill Hopkins2011-2013

What is a native plant?

By Bill Ward Botanists say that Texas is home to over 7,000 species of vascular plants, including native, naturalized, non-native, crop and forage, and introduced perennial ornamental species. Nearly 5,000

Group of people stand outside, ready for a hike.

Who We Are

Our Mission The mission of the Native Plant Society of Texas is to promote conservation, research and utilization of native plants and plant habitats of Texas through education, outreach, and example.


The Native Plant Society of Texas State Board meets quarterly. The State Board consists of one voting representative from each of the chapters plus officers who are elected by the membership. State Board meetings are open to all members.

State board meetings are held in February, May, August, and November each year. See the events calendar for specific upcoming State Board meeting dates and times.

State Board officers serve two-year terms, which are staggered so that half the officers are elected each year. At the end of the president’s two-year term then the president-elect automatically succeeds. Duties of the elected officers are described in the Standing Rules linked below.

Executive Board Members



Immediate Past President

VP Administration

VP Chapter Liaison

VP Communications

VP Education

VP Affiliations & Advocacy

VP Finance


Administrative Assistant

Membership Coordinator

Native Landscape Certification Program Coordinator


Executive Director

Committee Chairs and Appointees

Audit Committee Chair

Awards Committee Chair

Botanical Advisor

Bring Back the Monarchs Project Coordinator

Finance Committee Chair

Grants & Scholarship Committee

I-35 Monarch Waystations Safety Rest Areas Committee Chair

Invasive Plant Committee Chair

Magazine Editor

Membership Committee Chair

Native Plants in Schools Committee Chair

NICE Native Plant Partners Chair

NLCP Steering Committee Chair

Nominations Committee Chair

Senior Botanical Advisor

Social Media Team Lead

Speakers Bureau Chair